Skip to content

Caffee new Chairman

Photo courtesy of Metcalfe County School

By PJ Martin


The Herald-News


The Metcalfe County Board of Education met in a special called meeting last Monday night to select a new chairman.

Former Chairman Joey Shive had filled the District 2 position for 13 years when he decided to tender his resignation in early February.

Vice Chair Robin McMurtrey oversaw the meeting which began with the board accepting Shive’s resignation 4-0.

McMurtrey then announced, “Just for reasons such as tonight, I’d like to nominate John Caffee to be the new chairperson.”

Caffee is the elected board member for District 4 which includes West Edmonton, Cedar Flat, and Subtle.

The motion was then seconded by board member Donnie Perry and without any discussion Caffee was approved as the new chairman in a 4-0 vote. McMurtrey then turned the rest of the meeting over to Caffee. The vice chairperson will remain Robin McMurtrey.

Caffee’s first action as chairman was to accept a motion by Donnie Perry to renew the Superintendent’s contract. Board member Tim Brown seconded the motion and without any discussion or objections the contract renewal for Superintendent Josh Hurt was approved unanimously.

Hurt made the following statement in a press release form the Board of Education. “I appreciate the Board’s faith in me and look forward to leading Metcalfe County Schools forward,” said Superintendent Hurt. “Our focus remains learning, a high-quality student experience, and safety. I am excited to continue the work.”

Shive’s resignation leaves the board a member short without representation for District 2 which includes Randolph, Wisdom, and the Knob Lick areas. The board is now accepting applications to fill the vacant seat. Applications are available on the district’s website,, and Central Office at 709 W. Stockton Street in Edmonton.

The next meeting of the Board of Education is scheduled for March 12th at 7 p.m.


Leave a Comment