Skip to content

Renovating your health

Getting ready to cut the ribbon is District Manager Matt Hunt accompanied by staff members and visitors. Photo | PJ Martin

By PJ Martin


The Herald-News


The Edmonton-Metcalfe County Chamber of Commerce hosted their 11th ribbon cutting for the Metcalfe County Health Department on Tuesday, October 24th. A good crowd attended and toured the renovated building located at 615 W. Stockton Street.

The building that houses the Health Dept. was completed in 1964 and the offices were moved there on December 27th. It has been a staple of the community ever since. Most who grew up in Metcalfe County might have not such fond memories of receiving school vaccinations there or perhaps when they came to the individual elementary schools to provide vaccinations.

The original personnel were Dr. P.H. Issaco, Health Educator Jimmy Huddleston, Nurse Mrs. Dorothy Thompson, Clerk Mrs. Louise Carter, and Sanitarian W. S. Kelly.

The Metcalfe County Health Department is a member of the Barren River District Health Departments along with Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Simpson, and Warren Counties. The BRDHD was established in 1982.

There have been a few changes along with the renovation over the last couple of years. A full-time clinic nurse Katie Matthews RN is available 5 days a week, and Nurse Supervisor Leann Hennion who covers Barren, Hart, and Metcalfe Health Departments, is in one day per week. The state Plumbing Inspector David Mercer is available one day per week. Full-time Environmentalist Bree Johnson and Sr. Support staff member Angela Blythe are both available 5 days a week to answer calls and assist anyone who visits.

The Health Department is open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and can be contacted by calling 270-432-3214.


Leave a Comment