Skip to content

Six retire in Metcalfe

Pictured (L-R): Chairman Joey Shive, Sheila Mills, Milton Syra, Michelle Gillentine, Judy Dubree, and Superintendent Josh Hurt (not pictured: Karan O’Sullivan and Wayne Bailey). Photo by Metcalfe County School

By Torrie Osbon 

Director of Communications 


The Metcalfe County Board of Education met for a special called meeting on Thursday, June 15th. The meeting served as the board’s monthly meeting for June. 

 Superintendent Josh Hurt and building principals presented gifts of appreciation to the following employees, who are retiring at the end of June. The board thanked each retiree for their service and dedication to Metcalfe County Schools. 

  •  Wayne Bailey, Bus Driver, 20 years
  • Judy Dubree, MCES Cook, 21 years
  • Michelle Gillentine, MCES Teacher, 31 years
  • Sheila Mills, MCHS Paraeducator, 28 years
  • Karan O’Sullivan, MCHS Teacher, 17 years
  • Milton Syra, MCHS Teacher, 28 years

 Congratulations to all! 

 Additionally, the board approved the following board meeting dates for July 2023 through December 2023. 

 Tuesday, July 11, 2023 

Thursday, August 10, 2023 

Tuesday, September 12, 2023 

Thursday, October 19, 2023 

Tuesday, November 14, 2023 

Monday, December 11, 2023 

Leave a Comment