Skip to content

Barren County Primary Election 2022

By Jennifer Moonsong

The unofficial election results are in for Barren County.

In the race for Sheriff, Republican Steve Garrison will vie for the title this November with Democratic Incumbent, Kent Keen.

Garrison had 1224 votes, Charles Bunch had 1057 and Guy Turcotte came in last on the Republican ticket with 916.

In the Jailer’s race, candidate Aaron Shirley has unseated Aaron Bennett.  Shirley received 1843 votes, Bennett received 1385 and Chris pulley received 472.

Barren County Magistrate District 1 winner is Republican Jeffrey Botts with 232 votes.

Magistrate District 2 Republican is Derek Pedigo with 351 votes.

Magistrate District 3’s Republican winner is Tim Durham with 475 votes, and the Democratic winner in District 3 is Dennis Stephens who received 172 votes.

Magistrate District 4 winner is Republican Tim Comer with 463 votes.

Republican winner for Magistrate District 5 is Marty Kinslow with 265 votes, and the Democratic winner is Ben Nuckols with 219 votes.

Magistrate District 6 winner is Democrat Ronnie Stinson, with 263 votes.

Magistrate District 7 has a Republican winner, Mike Haynes with 149 votes.

As for Constables, Freddy Wilkerson (R) is Constable of District 2 with 465 votes.

Thomas Neal, Jr. (D) is the District 3 Constable with 136 votes.

District 4 Constable is John London (D) with 211 votes, and District 5 Constable is Gary Chris Furlong (D) with 152 votes.

District one had no candidates.

In state races, Republican Senator Rand Paul got the most Republican votes with 3226, while Charles Bucher got 1330 on the Democratic side.

Brett Guthrie is the Republican winner for state representative was 2899 votes, and he will be challenged in the fall by Hank Linderman, for the Democratic Party, who got 961 votes.


1 Comment

  1. Russ Mosier on May 18, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    There not the constables yet they still have to win November way yall have it worded makes it sound like they won the whole thing

Leave a Comment