Skip to content

2019-20 School calendar approved

Superintendent Benny Lile, board member Robin McMurtrey, Freeda Reece of Edmonton State Bank, and board members John Caffee, Joey Shive, Tim Brown, and Donnie Perry.

By PJ Martin

Office/News Reporter, Metcalfe Division

The January meeting of the Metcalfe County Board of Education began with the re-election of Joey Shive as Chairman and Tim Brown as Vice Chairman. The board also approved the following school calendar for the upcoming 2019-20 school year.

Opening Day Thursday, August 22, 2019
Teacher Work Day Friday, August 23, 2019
First Day for Students Monday, August 26, 2019
Labor Day (no school) Monday, September 2, 2019
Fall Break (no school) October 7 – 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Break Last day November 27 – Return December 2, 2019
Christmas Break Last day December 19, 2019 – Return January 6, 2020
Martin Luther King Day (no school) Monday, January 20, 2020
Presidents Day (no school) Monday, February 17, 2020 (Possible make-up day)
Spring Break (no school) April 6 – 10, 2020
Last Day for Students Thursday, May 21, 2020
Closing Day Friday, May 22, 2020


Fifth-grade student Emily Gutierrez was recognized as the January student of the month. Kindergarten teacher Jay White was recognized as the Certified Staff of the Month and MCES Para educator Olga Jeffries was recognized as the Classified Staff of the Month.

The board recognized two longtime employees with gifts for their retirement. Dale Gibson who has worked for the school system for 24 years, the last 10 as a bus driver, is retiring. Transportation Manager Herby Bunch noted that “Dale has been an excellent bus driver. You could not ask for any better.”

Also retiring is David Moss who has spent 25 years in the maintenance department. Chris Huffman complimented Moss saying, “He’d let you know what kind of problems and issue you had, if he could fix em, and if he couldn’t fix em, he got it for you somehow someway.”

Although a month late, Athletic Director Matt Shirley was recognized as Decembers District Employee of the Month. Superintendent Dr. Benny Lile honored him by saying, “We appreciate what Matt has done this year, how active and how involved, and how easy to work with he has been.”

January is School Board Recognition Month. Freeda Reece with Edmonton State Bank presented each board member with a gift of appreciation.


The board approved architectural and construction agreements for the new Community Center. No definite dates have been set for the start of the project.

The BG-2 and BG-3 construction forms were approved for submission to the Kentucky Department of Education for the planned MCHS HVAC Project.

The board also approved joining the Coalition for a Smoke-Free tomorrow.

The February board meeting is scheduled for February 12th at 5:00 p.m.

Board Chairman Joey Shive and David Moss retired after 25 years.

Board Chairman Joey Shive and Dale Gibson who is retiring after 24 years.

Shive presented the Classified Staff of the Month award to Olga Jeffries.

MCES Principal Michael Gill and Chairman Joey Shive presented the student of the month award for January to Emily Gutierrez, a 5th graders at MCES.

Principal Gill and Chairman Shive presented the Certified Staff of the Month award to Jay White.

Athletic Director Matt Shirley was recognized as Decembers District Employee of the Month by Chairman Shive.















Leave a Comment