Skip to content

Precinct Location Moved

Current Precinct Locations

Shown above is a current copy of the precinct map for Edmonson County.


By Melissa Mudd
Edmonson News Editor
Jobe Publishing, Inc.


The Edmonson County Election Board voted unanimously on Feb. 24 to move the voting location for the C101 District to the Rocky Hill Volunteer Fire Department. The move will affect voters in the communities of Arthur, New Grove, Pig, Silent Grove, and part of Cedar Springs, among others. Rocky Hill Volunteer Fire Department will be moving to a new location at the former Atmos Energy property on Rocky Hill Road.

Given the fact that no elections are scheduled for 2017, Edmonson County Clerk Kevin Alexander said he thought the timing for making the change works out well.

Bank of Edmonson County

“This is something we have been discussing for quite a while,” Alexander said. “One thing we want to do is be consistent with the location of our polling places. This particular location was the only one in the county that was not located at either a school or a volunteer fire department. The current building for the Rocky Hill Fire Department is small and does not have a lot of parking. This new location will accommodate both the current voters of Rocky Hill’s precinct, and the ones moving from the previous polling place of The Community Church at Cedar Springs.”
What happens next is the Kentucky State Board of Elections will now have to approve the location change, voted on by the local board. Alexander does not anticipate any issues with the approval happening.

Alexander went on to say, “the Election Board appreciated the people at The Community Church of Cedar Springs for being willing to offer their fellowship hall over the past few years for elections. The change is about being consistent for locations throughout the county. With Rocky Hill moving to a large facility, the move simply made sense. Even though it is a bit longer drive for some people, we are hopeful people will remain committed to going to vote.

The Election Board, consists of County Clerk Kevin Alexander, Edmonson County Sheriff Shane Doyle, Democratic Representative Markeeta Wood, and Republican representative Bob Kleier, meet monthly to discuss items pertaining to elections in the county.

Leave a Comment